Posts Tagged ‘Empire Of The Sun’

March 21, 2018

Silverchair’s Daniel Johns and Empire of the Sun’s Luke Steele were two very busy music luminaries last week while we were dashing around Austin like crazy. It sure is a nice surprise to come home and find out that the two have formed a new project together named DREAMS, and they’ve already released an explosive first isngle named No One Defeats Us. Dance rock, French house, and synthpop meld together on this invincible anthem. To be honest, it’s an unexpected composite sound since Daniel Johns’ solo music is much more R&B driven these days. No One Defeats Us is more Empire than anything, with an extra funky strut and a whole lot of glamorous twirling. Turns out, Daniel Johns and Luke Steele are long time buddies, so DREAMS is a realization of that long-time friendship.  No One Defeats Us is described as a war cry, or an exorcism of a bad series of events, or a bad dream. DREAMS makes their debut performance at Coachella this April. I can only imagine how glorious it’s going to be. Download/stream No One Defeats Us, here.

November 14, 2017

Last week, Empire of the Sun regaled us with a new EP and a video for its single Way To Go (also off of recent album Two Vines). If you haven’t watched the Australian duo’s music video for title track On Our Way Home, you’re in for a treat. Originally exclusive to French luxury brand DS Automobiles, the visualizer is a prismatic experience with sensational headdresses and fantastical imagery. On Our Way Home is a beautifully sleek, neon-wavey synthpop number from the beloved pair. Download or stream the single, here.

November 10, 2017

Great news has arrived for fans of well-costumed Australian synthpop and glam rock veterans Empire Of The Sun. Luke Steele and Nick Littlemore have released a new EP entitled On Our Way Home after only having announced it a day prior. They’ve also shared a music video for its lead single, Way To Go, which I’m sure you recognize from their most recent album, Two Vines. New EP On Our Way Home also features several remixes of Way To Go and a couple of new treats. On Our Way Home is available from iTunes, here.

June 29, 2017

A chance encounter brought me to the steps of this thrilling remix, and try as I might, I couldn’t find out too much about the producers behind the magic. Helio Kiyoshi is, apparently, a producer from Brazil and Vale is a mystery, but the pair have joined forces to turn out this heavy hitting, hard thumping remix of Empire Of The Sun’s We Are The People. It’s a dark bustling, robust whomping adrenaline pumper that involves deep house and Brazilian bass. You can download the remix for free, here.

December 3, 2016

I’ve had Empire Of The Sun’s new album Two Vines on rotation since it’s release, and I can’t foresee retiring it anytime soon. That’s right, I’ve fallen hard for Luke Steele and Nick Littlemore’s latest project, one that contains so many endearing tunes. While it’s near impossible for me to pick a favorite track from the record, High and Low is easily up there as one of the champions, and I can’t help but gravitate towards the buoyant charming house remix offered up by Australia’s Hayden James. Quite honestly, all there is to be found here are highs, no lows. Hayden James’ edit skips exuberantly and smoothly. Its rosy glow and atmospheric builds seep into my own heart, imbuing it with weightless mirth. 

October 22, 2016

We have but one more week to wait for that brand new Empire Of The Sun album, and our excitement grows with a synth pumping new reveal from Two Vines named Ways To Go. The beloved Australian duo kick start our weekend with sleek pulsating alt dance and dreamy throbbing synthpop, but this time around, they’ve injected their glamorous trademark sound with a wealth of early 80′s goth atmosphere. If you haven’t pre-ordered Two Vines yet, head over to iTunes.

October 4, 2016

Empire Of The Sun has revealed yet another treat from their forthcoming new full length, Two Vines, and it’s a surprisingly halcyon and serene beauty. To Her Door also features Fleetwood Mac guitarist Lindsey Buckingham. They make quite the combo on this far more shimmery tune, a sound we don’t hear all that often from the Australian electronic duo. With Lindsey’s warm guitars, this Empire Of The Sun feels very dream pop meets dream folk, even remindingme of M83 at certain moments, particular near the end of the song. I find myself very content with this misty ethereal version of Empire Of The Sun. Pre-order Two Vines, here, ahead of its October 28th release date.

August 25, 2016

I first heard Empire Of The Sun’s new single last Friday when it was debuted during a DJ set at Popscene. I’ve been waiting for High And Low’s official release ever since. While I’m monumentally ecstatic that Walking On A Dream has found new mainstream life after it was featured on a Honda Civic television advert earlier this year, there’s nothing like some fresh ebullient alt dance and synthpop from the beloved Australian duo. Luke Steele and Nick Littlemore make a grand re-entrance with the ravishing anthem. High And Low comes with the announcement of a new full length, Two Vines, to be released October 28th. Pre-order from iTunes.

March 18, 2016

Here’s a nice indie tune from Central Coast brothers Little Earthquake. ‘Honest’ was produced by Empire of the Sun’s Nick Littlemore. They recently were openers for Twenty One Pilots on their Australian tour. For a song that is about asking someone for their honesty, I appreciate how it doesn’t come off in a desperate or begging tone. It’s actually quite catchy and has me shimming in my chair.

March 2, 2016

Phoenix based production duo Dirty Doses joins up with enigmatic HONEST on a revamp of Empire Of The Sun standard Walking On A Dream. To be honest, I haven’t visited this well loved hit in some time, and my love for Luke Steele and Nick Littlemore is renewed on this frisky remix, a heady and dirty future house rendition that has me skipping or skittering on a dream rather than walking. Dirty Doses reports that they made this track in preparation for festival season. Download the track for free, here.